Daily Prompt: Young At Heart: When I am an old woman I shall wear purple

Image

When I Am Old.

When I am an old woman

I shall wear purple

With a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me,

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired,

And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells,

And run my stick along the public railings,

And make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

And pick the flowers in other people’s gardens,

And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat,

And eat three pounds of sausages at a go,

Or only bread and pickle for a week,

And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry,

And pay our rent and not swear in the street,

And set a good example for the children.

We will have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practise a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised,

When suddenly I am old and start to wear purple!

Jenny Joseph

 

For The Daily Post 

About Healthy Harriet

An Irish woman who likes colour, taking pictures (especially close ups), talking, writing, knitting little pigs and daffodils, kids, cats, cooking ...and thinking about having a healthy lifestyle (while nibbling on a Jaffa cake)
This entry was posted in Other Gabble from HH and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Daily Prompt: Young At Heart: When I am an old woman I shall wear purple

  1. tnkerr says:

    Awesome. I love it!

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Age | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: The Click-Over | jigokucho

  4. Pingback: How To Be Young Again | The Moon Head

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: Young at heart: The Ballad of the Fifty Something Rebel. Daily Prompt! | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: Responsibly Immature | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  10. Pingback: Fountain of Youth Lies in the Silly | The Shotgun Girls

  11. Pingback: Aging Is A Blessing | B.Kaotic

  12. Pingback: A Blog for Laura Lee

  13. Pingback: Young At Heart | Alexia Jones

Leave a Reply

